Hawkhurst Cottage Hospital Given to the village in 1877 by Margaret Adams of Springfield High Street

High Street, Hawkhurst, United Kingdom

Subjects
Victoria Hall Built by J. T. E. Davis for Henry Maynard of Oakfield in 1875 as a lecture hall and later acquired by the village

Rye Road, Hawkhurst, United Kingdom

Subjects
Charles Gunther (1863 - 1931) Breeder of prime beef cattle for export to Argentina originator of the Oxo cube and High Sheriff of Kent lived at Tongswood from 1902 to 1931 Gunther gave this building to the village originally a fire station in memory of his two sons lost in the Great War

Rye Road, Hawkhurst, United Kingdom

Subjects
Welcome to Hawkhurst This Kentish Wealden village once important in the cloth and iron industries and later for the growing of hops was home of the notorious Hawkhurst Gang of smugglers in the 1700s Look out for the plaques of historical interest

Rye Road, Hawkhurst, United Kingdom

The Colonnade This unique architectural gem famous throughout the Weald was constructed in 1831

Rye Road, Hawkhurst, United Kingdom

Dunk's Almshouses and Schoolroom In his will of 1718 Sir Thomas Dunk gave and endowed these six dwellings for poor people a school for twenty boys and a house for the master

Rye Road, Hawkhurst, United Kingdom

Subjects
English Cast Iron 3 Pounder Naval Cannon This cannon, belonging to Mr Richard Piper of Conghurst, has been presented to the Trustees of Dunk's Almshouses. The cannon was set in the road, at Four Throws, by Mr Piper's grandfather at the end of the 19th century to protect his private post box from passing traffic. This cannon was probably made about 1750 for an armed merchantman (or for export) based on the British Government pattern of gun. Although cannons were made in Hawkhurst the local forges were closed before this gun was made. Mr Charles Brinsley made the gun carriage from oak sourced from Delmonden and he also supervised the refurbishment of the cannon. The project was undertaken by Mr Jeremy Cross in association with the Hawkhurst Village Society and has been sponsored by local donations and Tunbridge Wells Borough Council.

Rye Road, Hawkhurst, United Kingdom

Infant School Given to the village in 1869 became the Church Institute in 1900 and the Cadet Drill Hall in 1978

Cranbrook Road, Hawkhurst, United Kingdom

William Rootes (1870-1955) Pioneer of the motor industry traded from these premises in the early 20th century The business was developed into the Rootes Group

Cranbrook Road, Hawkhurst, United Kingdom

Subjects
Hawkhurst Asylum This pillar is all that remains of the Hawkhurst Asylum which was burnt down in 1890

Northgrove Road, Hawkhurst, United Kingdom

Subjects
The Moor School 1863-2003 Given to the village by Col. Edward Loyd of Lillesden

Talbot Road, Hawkhurst, United Kingdom

Subjects