Brothel. John Weaver, builder, erected this unique building of six small rooms as a brothel in 1869. Ten years later it became part of a 13-roomed boarding house, also built by Weaver, fronting Little Hopwood Street and run by Mrs. E. Every under the name 'Australian Restaurant'. This timber building burnt in 1887 but the two storey brick building behind it survived. From 1887-1897 it was almost certainly run as a brothel by the licensee of the nearby Murray Hotel, who admitted to employing 'high kickers' such as 'Flocker Liz' and who in 1897 lost her licence for 'immorality'. Freeman's Foundry and agricultural machinery business operated next door and used the building as storage from 1911 until relocating in 1979.
High Street, Echuca, Victoria, Australia