Open Plaques
United Kingdom

Hawkhurst

12 results

3622738198_cc936db67b_sHawkhurst Cottage Hospital blue plaque in HawkhurstHawkhurst Cottage Hospital Given to the village in 1877 by Margaret Adams of Springfield High Street
3622742702_0fd9fe06a9_sBlue plaque № 1471 in HawkhurstThe Colonnade This unique architectural gem famous throughout the Weald was constructed in 1831
3621926253_62d423ace5_sThomas Dunk blue plaque in HawkhurstDunk's Almshouses and Schoolroom In his will of 1718 Sir Thomas Dunk gave and endowed these six dwellings for poor people a school for twenty boys and a house for the master
3622744888_01de5ae0b4_sBlue plaque № 1473 in HawkhurstEnglish Cast Iron 3 Pounder Naval Cannon This cannon, belonging to Mr Richard Piper of Conghurst, has been presented to the Trustees of Dunk's Almshouses. The cannon was set in the road, at Four Throws, by Mr Piper's grandfather at the end of the 19th century to protect his private post box from passing traffic. This cannon was probably made about 1750 for an armed merchantman (or for export) based on the British Government pattern of gun. Although cannons were made in Hawkhurst the local forges were closed before this gun was made. Mr Charles Brinsley made the gun carriage from oak sourced from Delmonden and he also supervised the refurbishment of the cannon. The project was undertaken by Mr Jeremy Cross in association with the Hawkhurst Village Society and has been sponsored by local donations and Tunbridge Wells Borough Council.
3622745848_e27acb0e96_sBlue plaque № 1474 in HawkhurstInfant School Given to the village in 1869 became the Church Institute in 1900 and the Cadet Drill Hall in 1978
3621929561_ac517842eb_sWilliam Rootes blue plaque in HawkhurstWilliam Rootes (1870-1955) Pioneer of the motor industry traded from these premises in the early 20th century The business was developed into the Rootes Group
3621930719_51af3b0130_sHawkhurst Asylum blue plaque in HawkhurstHawkhurst Asylum This pillar is all that remains of the Hawkhurst Asylum which was burnt down in 1890
3622749370_7546d23d01_sMoor School blue plaque in HawkhurstThe Moor School 1863-2003 Given to the village by Col. Edward Loyd of Lillesden
3621922819_182ed34131_sCharles Gunther blue plaque in HawkhurstCharles Gunther (1863 - 1931) Breeder of prime beef cattle for export to Argentina originator of the Oxo cube and High Sheriff of Kent lived at Tongswood from 1902 to 1931 Gunther gave this building to the village originally a fire station in memory of his two sons lost in the Great War
3622741404_a1d6a330e4_sBlue plaque № 1470 in HawkhurstWelcome to Hawkhurst This Kentish Wealden village once important in the cloth and iron industries and later for the growing of hops was home of the notorious Hawkhurst Gang of smugglers in the 1700s Look out for the plaques of historical interest
3622739304_b3067687a1_sJ. T. E. Davis blue plaque in HawkhurstVictoria Hall Built by JTE Davis for Henry Maynard of Oakfield in 1875 as a lecture hall and later acquired by the village
NophotosqrJohn Herschel blue plaque in HawkhurstSir John Herschel (1792-1871) eminent astronomer lived in Collingwood House from 1838 to 1871

See unphotographed plaques.

Data about Hawkhurst as XML JSON KML GMAP