The Guildhall and Grammar School The Guildhall was built in 1417-20 as the headquarters of the Guild of the Holy Cross. In 1553 following the suppression of the Guild, the building was granted to the newly-formed Stratford Corporation by Edward VI. It served as the council's meeting place for the next 300 years, including the year 1568-9 when William Shakespeare's father, John, served as Balliff. The Guild's school, re-founded as The Kyng's Newe Scole in 1553, occupied part of the upper floor from the 1560s and it was here that William Shakespeare was eduated. In the late 1500s travelling players performed regularly in the Guildhall providing Shakespeare with his first experience of professional theatre. The Guildhall continues to be used for teaching by King Edward VI School.
in 2016 Part of the Stratford-upon-Avon Historic Spine series