The Waterloo Hotel, Runcorn

place and hotel

Aged unknown

Commemorated on 1 plaque

The Waterloo Hotel. This iconic building was built in the 1830s and became The Waterloo Hotel c.1840. The building is situated opposite the Bridgewater Canal in an area of Runcorn known as Top Locks. Beginning at Waterloo Bridge behind you, two flights of canal locks used to operate, the 'old line' and the 'new line', the former terminating at Bottom Locks near Bridgewater House. The Waterloo Hotel, along with The Navigation Inn on Canal Street, were once favourite haunts of Captain Edward John (Ted) Smith. He captained RMS Titanic which sank on her maiden voyage in 1912 after hitting an iceberg. Over 1,500 people lost their lives, including Captain Smith. His mother lived in Runcorn and died in 1893. She was buried in Runcorn Cemetery on Greenway Road. The Waterloo Hotel closed in 2012. Today the building is home to the Wat Phra Singh UK Buddhist Temple and Meditation Centre.

Wat Phra Singh Buddhist Temple, High Street, Runcorn, United Kingdom where it sited (1840)