Turkish bronze gun

Died aged 234

Commemorated on 1 plaque

This Turkish bronze gun was cast in 1790-91 (AH 1212) in the reign of the Ottoman Sultan Selim III. It weighs 5.2 tonnes, fired stone shot of just over 56 kilos and is one of two taken by Admiral Sir John Duckworth from Kinali Island in the Sea of Marmara in 1807. The gun was presented to the Royal Naval Asylum at Greenwich by HRH Prince Ernest, Duke of Cumberland on 21 October 1807. The cast-iron display carriage was made later by the Royal Carriage Department of the Royal Arsenal, Woolwich. Its decorative plaques commemorate British naval victories. In 1821 the Asylum became part of the Greenwich Hospital School, renamed the Royal Hospital School in 1892. The School moved to Holbrook, Suffolk, in 1933: its Greenwich buildings are now the National Maritime Museum. The gun also went to Holbrook until returned for display here in 2007 with financial support from Greenwich Hospital.

Turkish bronze gun near Discover Greenwich, London, United Kingdom where it was