William Claiborne Rector

Died aged c. 68

Commemorated on 3 plaques

Texas Historical Marker #00897

Claiborne Rector. Star and Wreath Served in the Battle of San Jacinto; Captain William H. Patton's Company. Erected by the State of Texas 1962 #897

?, La Vernia, TX, United States where they was

Texas Historical Marker #03004

La Vernia. Established about 1846 or 1847 by Claiborne Rector, who built a stage stop and blacksmith shop here to serve travelers on the Chihuahua Road, a major trail in early Texas. Main Street today follows route of the old road. Settlement was called "Post Oak" until mail service started, 1856. Name was then changed to Spanish "La Verdear" because of many green oaks in area. English speakers called it "La Vernia". Like much of Texas, this area was settled by southerners in search of fertile land. In Civil War, La Vernia was a recruiting and officer training center. #3004

US 87, La Vernia, TX, United States where they built (1846-1847) and worked (1846)

Texas Historical Marker #12714

Rector Chapel Cemetery. Rector Chapel Cemetery William Robert Wiseman (1816-1888) was a successful farmer and owned the first cotton gin in La Vernia. William Claiborne Rector (1805-1873), a hero of San Jacinto, farmed, served as postmaster and provided horses for the local stage line. The two men were close friends and together organized the Cibolo Presbyterian Church in 1852. Following Rector's death in 1873, a new chapel was built on Wiseman's farm; he named it after his good friend and, in 1877, set aside four acres "for church and burying purposes." The chapel was moved to La Vernia in 1891, but these gravestones remain, a record of La Vernia's rich heritage. Historic Texas Cemetery-2002 #12714

FM 2772, La Vernia, TX, United States where they lived near