Mile End: Originally Doune’s principal coaching inn, with stables behind. The licence for selling spirits lapsed on the death of the owner in 1890 and it became a Temperance inn providing shelter and nourishment for weary travellers and locals. Many original features are still present including the iron ring outside to tether horses. Inside, a millstone and well survive.

by Kilmadock Development Trust on 12 July 2024

Colour: black

Wikimedia:

Flickr:

Subjects

None identified yet. Subjects are curated by hand so please bear with us.