Sir George Skene
Died aged c. 88
Sir George Skene of Fintray (1619–1708) was a Scottish merchant in the Baltic trade who served as Provost of the city of Aberdeen from 1676 to 1685. He was knighted in 1681. He was a burgh commissioner for Aberdeen in the Parliament of Scotland from 1681 to 1682 and 1685 to 1686. On his death in December 1708 he was buried in the family plot at the Kirk of St Nicholas. The flat stone lies close to the west boundary wall around midway on its length. Today he is most famous and widely known, not for his time as Provost, but for the house he bought in Aberdeen in 1669, now home to a biographical museum.DbPedia
Commemorated on 2 plaques
Guestrow. A name unique to Aberdeen, but its origin is obscure. Some suggest that 'Ghaistraw' means street of spirits or ghosts. In the 17th century Ghaistrow had a number of lodging houses, the Episcopalian meeting house and Provost Skene's fine stone dwelling which stands today. Much of Guestrow, including Quaker Court, was demolished in the city's slum clearance schemes.
off Broad Street, Aberdeen, United Kingdom where they lived near
This house formerly the town residence of Sir George Skene Provost of Aberdeen 1676 to 1685 restored by the corporation of the city of Aberdeen was opened on the thirtieth day of September one thousand nine hundred and fifty three by her majesty Queen Elizabeth the Queen Mother
Flourmill Lane, Aberdeen, United Kingdom where they lived