Leeds Corn Exchange. This magnificent building was designed for Leeds Corporation by Cuthbert Brodrick. Its ingenious roof gave an even northern light for the careful inspection of grain by merchants and factors from all over England and Scotland who occupied its 59 offices and 170 stands on its trading floor. Trade continued strongly until the 1950s but, as it declined, a new use was needed. Imaginatively re-modelled it re-opened in 1990 as a unique speciality shopping centre. Erected 1861-63.