Shakespeare's New Place. Built in 1483. Demolished in 1759. Became a museum with Nash House from 1876. Gardens restored and reopened by the Shakespeare Birthplace Trust in 2016.
New Place (grid reference SP201548) was William Shakespeare's final place of residence in Stratford-upon-Avon. He died there in 1616. Though the house no longer exists, the site is owned by the Shakespeare Birthplace Trust, which maintains it as a specially-designed garden for tourists.DbPedia
Commemorated on 2 plaques
Nash's House & New Place Nash's House was owned by Thomas Nash, who was married to Shakespeare's granddaughter, Elizabeth. The house later passed to her on Thomas's death. The house adjoins the site of New Place bought by Shakespeare in 1597, where he lived with his family and later died in 1616. It was during this time that Shakespeare wrote some of his greatest works. See outstanding furniture and paintings, a fascinating exhibition of archaeological finds from New Place and explore the beautiful gardens.
Nash's House & New Place - Chapel Street, Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom where it sited
Shakespeare's New Place Built in 1483, New Place was the largest house in the borough of Stratford-upon-Avon. William Shakespeare bought New Place in 1597. It became his family home, and he lived here with his wife Anne and their daughters Susanna and Judith. Shakespeare died at New Place in April 1616. The house passed to his daughter Susanna Hall and, after her death in 1649, to his granddaughter Elizabeth Nash. Following Elizabeth's death in 1670, Sir John Clopton replaced it with a new house, completed in 1702. New Place was finally demolished by the Rev. Francis Gastrell in 1759. Since 1876 the site of Shakespeare's adult home has been preserved as a garden and cared for by the Shakespeare Birthplace Trust. Following extensive archaeological investigations the gardens at New Place were re-presented and opened in 2016 with an exhibition centre located in the adjoining Nash's House.
Shakespeare's New Place, Chapel Street, Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom where it built (1483) and demolished (1759)