Henry Basse House. Descended from the Rev. Henrich S. W. Basse, a Lutheran pastor sent by the Adelsverein to serve German settlers in this area, Henry and Hugo Basse operated the Basse Brothers Cement Yard and created the Basse block, a popular building material in this region. This house, built in 1918-1920 by Henry Basse, is a testament to his business success and is a fine example of Basse block construction. A good local example of Prairie School-influenced design, it features a center passage plan and a three-bay, two-story porch with classical box columns on the first story. Recorded Texas Historic Landmark - 1991 #10010

by Texas Historical Commission #10010 of the Texas Historical Marker series

Colour: black




None identified yet. Subjects are curated by hand so please bear with us.